Is Fashion Week Still On Trend?

Is the wait too long between seeing these new collections debut and actually seeing them being made available? Numerous fashion critics and even buyers are arguing that it is.

This is mainly because designer lines debut on the runway months before they are even meant to be worn. Unless you’re a celebrity, you’d have to wait months to be able to get your hands on something you saw on the runway at Fashion Week.

Personally, I don’t think it takes too long. If a Spring/Summer collection is premiered in the late winter then I don’t think you need to buy it right away. I mean, do you really need to purchase a swimsuit in February?! I believe showing these lines months in advance is a good idea. It shows us what we should expect to see a lot of in the coming months and encourages us to get excited about it.

Image

(Photo taken from: fashion.telegraph.co.uk)

Image

(Photo taken from: gorgeautiful.com)

Many big names in the fashion industry also believe that there are just simply too many shows. With 77 shows during this year’s London Fashion Week, I can see why some people would say this. However, I do disagree, clearly there are a lot of shows but I think that’s the way it should be.

To me, Fashion Week is a time for designer’s to come together and share their latest work for all to see. I think if they were to reduce the amount of shows then it would probably be limited to just the big name designers, and upcoming designers maybe wouldn’t have a chance of competing with them. I like Fashion Week as it is, but then again I’m not the one who has to attend fifteen shows in one day.

Leave a Reply

